Back To School Breakfast Muffins

Besides the most life-saving habit of meal planning that I have developed, I also love to prepare easy breakfast options for the kids to grab before school.  This way they get something hot and delicious, but they also get something fast.

Yes, there are mornings that we eat cereal. For one, they just love cereal.  Also, I am not a super human.  There are mornings when I am frazzled and I need them to just get themselves fed.

Ever since I went blueberry picking here in our little town of Laclede, Idaho, I have been having so much fun making muffins to store in the freezer.  Oh, who am I kidding!?  Every batch I make with the intention of freezing is eaten within 2 days.  They are yummy.  Ideally, I would love to have a freezer full of homemade muffins, cookies, etc. for the kids, but I think just spending an hour on a Saturday morning making something healthy for the school week is also awesome.

This morning I tried something different.  I took a standard muffin recipe.  SUPER standard.  Like, your classic Better Homes and Gardens muffin recipe.  I added a bunch of cinnamon and 8 drops of my delicious YL orange essential oil.  Topped the muffins with a streusel topping and felt pretty proud of my creativity!

The best is when the kids say they are delicious.

Next time I’ll make them whole wheat and throw in some flax seed!orange muffins

Leave a Reply

