The most amazing holiday cookies

image

Every year I do a LOT of baking for the holidays.  It’s just what I do.  Don’t judge.

Every year I also like to find a new recipe to add to my repertoire of holiday goodies.

This morning we woke up to crazy winds, snow, rain, all that good stuff.  My fire is burning hot, I might have Christmas tunes playing on the pandora station, and guess what?  I want to bake!

 

So I have an awesome cookie cookbook that I have had since I was 16.  My mom gave it to my for my birthday.  I don’t even really want to talk about the fact that that was 20 years ago.  It feels like yesterday.

So, there’s some recipes in this cookbook that are GOLD.  SUPER GOLD.  like amazing. cookies.  The sugar cookies.  The chocolate chip cookies, the oatmeal cookies.  OH MY WORD.  I have been using these recipes for 20 years!

image

So, today I dug out the good old trusted double chocolate chip cookie recipe and I decided to give it some holiday jazz with orange EO!

Here’s the ingredients You will need:

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup avocado oil or coconut oil (sidenote:  I grew up on crisco.  I am soooo picky about the look and texture of my cookie.  There is something about crisco that makes cookies crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside.  As an adult, we don’t buy crisco and this combination of oil and butter gives me the same results.  SO PERFECT)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla (the REAL THING)
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/4 tsp salt (DO NOT OMIT)
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 5 drops Young Living Orange EO
  • 1/4 tsp dried orange peel (optional)

Directions:

ok.  When I am making cookies I don’t do the whole separate things into different bowls.  That just doesn’t work for me.  Here is what I do

  • Put all the wet ingredients into a bowl and mix them altogether
  • Add the small dry ingredients.  By that I mean the baking soda, salt, etc.
  • Add the flour and mix it all up.

That is what I do and it works for me!

Then add your orange oil and chocolate chips.

 

Enjoy!!!  When you are done making them let me know how you liked them!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The most amazing holiday cookies

  1. I get a big smile on my face to think that you are still using that cookbook that I gave you so many years ago! I can’t believe it was 20 years either! Love that you are adjusting the recipes to include essential oils. I wonder if divinity would adapt and what oil might work?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

