90 days of games

Can we talk about my family for a minute.

funny-family-photo

We are struggling.  BIG TIME.  Before Jack came into our lives, we weren’t perfect, but things were so much better than they are right now.

I would read to the kids every night before bed, it was “our thing”  I was good at it, I know that both of my kids thrive off of quality time with me (thanks to http://www.thefivelovelanguages.com)  and being a busy, working mom, after dinner and clean up, spending 30 minutes cuddled up and reading was the perfect way for us to accomplish that.

Man, was I good at being a working mom.  LIKE SO GOOD.  I would wake up at 4 am (yes, go ahead and insert eye-roll, but I liked it) I would read my bible, spend time working on my oil job, get on the treadmill, get dinner in the crock-pot, get the kids ready for school, work doing something I loved, come home and just stay organized.  It was great, but my heart was always to be at home.  To not have the kids at a sitter in the morning, to not dread Sunday because it meant I had to get ready for the work week, to not dread grocery shopping because it meant a whole day in town and meal planning and a complete wasted day off.  All those things, made me want to get back at home so badly.

Enter YLEO’s (check them out here) and my dream came true!  After only 3 months of doing the business I looked at Jim and said, I’m going to be able to stay home soon.  Granted, I WAS NOT making a lot of money at my job, so I new I would be able to replace that income easily.   I had desired to have another baby for several years but didn’t give it much thought because I didn’t want to have to have our child in daycare.  NO JUDGMENTS AT ALL for moms that do work and send their babies to daycare. I TOTALLY GET IT.  It just isn’t for me.  Our dream of having another baby became more than just a dream!

Ok, I know this story is getting so long.  SO SO LONG.  and I apologize, there is a point.

Enter Jack, our cute, sweet, COMPLETELY JOYFUL little bundle of sunshine!  I got pregnant in July of 2014, and April of 2015 retired from my conventional job to be home with him.

jr nb 28
Isn’t he cute?!

But, it’s not all peaches and cream, and roses.  My pregnancy is hard, I gained a ton of weight (MY FAULT.  100%) got super lazy, quit reading to the kids because I was “too tired”  quit serving dinner at the table, started watching TV in front of the dinner with the family.  All of our old habits that made us unite as a family pretty much went out the window during that pregnancy.

 

Then, after Jack came, the good habits just stayed away, and here we are 2 years later, and our family is in shambles.  Kids fighting, parents fighting, no more reading together, barely praying together, dinners in front of the TV, too much screen time for everyone…did I mention fighting?  Because, there is an abundance.

I want to make changes but I don’t really know where to start.  The bedtime reading sounds lovely, but I have to be honest, that I am tapped out at 7:30 and that is the babies bedtime.  So I am going to start something different.  I am going to start an after school game time.  Right now, the kids come home, do a chore, homework if they have it, and then they get on their tablets.  It is what it is.  But I don’t want to settle for ordinary.  I want my family to have an extraordinary life together, and I don’t think it is too late.

We’re going to play a game together every day after school.  For 90 days.  Even if it sucks, and is awful, and they fight, I am going to persevere.  I am going to include prayer and bible time before we start, and I am not going to give up.

I am choosing games, because I want my family to laugh together, as we have forgotten.  I want the kids to cheer each other on, I want to have fun with my kids, I want them to know that I value my time with them and that I can give them quality time.

I am also choosing games, because, we suck at them!  Every time we try to play a game there is fighting, and I am always telling my kids, if you are bad at something you have to keep doing it to get better….so this is me following my own advice.

I am choosing games because I want my family to be happy, and joyful, and to be united again, and for some reason it is on my heart that this is what we are supposed to do.

Wish me luck!  I am ready for this challenge, more than you could ever know.

❤  Ann

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “90 days of games

  1. Sweetheart, I feel your heart and I will be praying that this game time will be a very special time for you and the kids and if you work as hard at spending time with the kids as you do with your business, I know things will get better. New babies bring adjustments andI have wondered how you could keep going at the pace you have set for yourself. God bless and know that I love you.

    Like

  2. I miss being home with the kids so bad. That’s always been my heart.. I hope things change for me someday soon. And, I have a feeling this game idea of yours WILL make a difference.. I can’t wait to hear if it does. I pray it helps a lot. I’m looking for ideas too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

