90 days of games {day 2}

Saturday!!  In many homes this is such a nice day of the week, I imagine children sleeping in, watching cartoons, doing their chores with a smile on their face, and a family spending time together, happily.

I KNOW I am living in fantasy land…but there has to be something better than the experience I am living in right now.  It’s non-stop fighting.  bickering. whining. ugh.

But today will be different!  Today we are on day 2 of playing games together.

So, today was a little more challenging to get our game squeezed in. There was snow to shovel off the roof, and basketball games to go to, and a baby to play with all day (ok that isn’t new)…

I decided to split the kids up today.  As soon as Jack went down for a nap I had Hayden pick out a game while Elliott went out to shovel with his dad.  It was really really fun.  Playing the game with Hayden made me realize, she is NOT the problem.  We played many rounds of Sorry, and it was great.  No fighting, no bad attitude, no whining…

Then came Elliott’s turn.  Sorry is his FAVORITE game, so he wanted to play that also.  Until, of course, I’m in the lead…then it’s no longer fun, and he starts making excuses, and trying to manipulate the game, and arguing about different plays.

I look at my son, that I love and adore SO MUCH.  He is my mini-me.  I cannot even describe at all how deeply I love him.  and I am SO FRUSTRATED, and I want to scream at him.  But I tell him, “Elliott.  You are making this game NOT FUN.”  “You are making it so that I want to throw this board in the garbage.  I just played with Hayden for an hour with no issues at all.  You are the reason we need to be playing games more.  You HAVE to work on your attitude.”

I couldn’t take anymore, so we were done for the day, but I am super glad I took the time to play with them individually to see where the real problem was.

2 thoughts on “90 days of games {day 2}

Leave a Reply

